Some hard decisions, would appreciate a fresh look.

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
politics

Some hard decisions, would appreciate a fresh look.

Postby politics » Sun Jan 03, 2010 6:45 pm

Background:
Senior in UG
Took LSAT in December and got a 160
GPA = 3.45 (Econ and Management degrees)
Was PTing at the 169-171 range

I studied for the LSAT for 3 months, hard, but I was extremely time crunched due to a hard class load and I just mentally lost it all semester

My parents would like for me to go straight into LS and come take over my fathers large practice/jump into politics. My father has a very profitable practice and is already well established in politics and I am entertaining this idea, but I am not 100% sure this is what I want to do with my life seeing as where I am from is not a very desirable place to live and I am not 100% committed on politics. (about 50/50 on whether this is what I want) I also do not want to take a year off for nothing which would be the case if I come back and do what was mentioned above. I have already been offered a scholarship at my states TTT LS but I am aware that a degree from this LS confines me to choosing the pre-proven path.

I was entertaining the Feb. LSAT to see if I could do better and would know if I reached my max potential or not but I go back to school in 10 days and have a very hard last semester so I can not really devote a lot of study time for the retake.

I am just looking for a fresh set of eyes on the situation so all thoughts are appreciated.

I am contemplating on the following:

1. Take the year off and restudy for the exam
2. Take the scholarship and just go home and take over the established life
3. Apply and pay sticker at a school in the 40-60 range

Sauer Grapes

Re: Some hard decisions, would appreciate a fresh look.

Postby Sauer Grapes » Sun Jan 03, 2010 6:50 pm

Last edited by Sauer Grapes on Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sourpunch