Personal statement and Diversity statement Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
jbp15860

New

Personal statement and Diversity statement

Post by jbp15860 » Mon Apr 30, 2018 10:31 pm

I'm applying for the fall 2018 cycle, taking the LSAT in September (and I assume November) so while I'm studying this summer (I'm currently a teacher) I'm going to be working hard on my personal statement and (possibly) a diversity statement. I would like some advice from some of y'all if any one has anything to add.

For my personal statement I am working on two drafts but I'm wondering which is the better angle. I don't like using the word angle, as they're both true and not embellished, but it seems to be the most fitting word. First, I have a statement about my time as a teacher in Title 1 schools in a major inner city and how I have seen first hand students being deported, parents being deported, students being arrested at school for minor violations and being put into the system. It's a 99% Hispanic school. The reason this is important is because it has made me realize that my main interest, serving the community I live in, can't be accomplished in the way I want through teaching middle school history. I love it but I don't feel I'm using what gifts I do have to their full potential and that I could better serve the population I teach, through law, whether that's as a prosecutor, immigration attorney... I can't know that until school, but that's where I'm at. My second idea doesn't take near as much explaining: it's simply about having Tourette's and obsessive compulsive disorder and overcoming that to get a Master's degree, become a teacher, all that stuff. (obviously written more eloquently.)