First year law student - personal statement for transfer Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Anonymous User

First year law student - personal statement for transfer

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:31 pm

Hello Top Law School Folks:

I am a law student who has just finished up his first year of law school. This past year, it was my goal to perform in the top of my class and transfer to a top law school that rejected me last admissions cycle. Below please see my personal statement. I would love to hear your feed back. Thanks!

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

The housing market crisis in 2007-2008 along with the abuse my mother suffered at the hands of my father led to my realization that I would like to work for the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”).

For me, the housing market collapse was emblematic of much more than the result of a market bubble and rampant speculatory investment meant to be studied and maligned at a distance. Having lived in Metropolitan Detroit—an area infamous among social scientists for its history of residential segregation, its economic reliance on the auto industry, and one hit particularly hard by said collapse—it culminated in my family losing our home to foreclosure. This was around the same time my mother finally reported my father for his continued domestic abuse. I am not sure that I can—nor that I particularly want to—separate these seemingly distinct occurrences.