Draft #3 - Feedback please!!

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )

Draft #3 - Feedback please!!

Postby inmybeginning » Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:56 pm

I'm mostly concerned about the conclusion. Trying to find a convincing way to say that I'm interested in law when i have no experience of it on my resume - so hard. And I've looked at this so many times now that I can't see the words anymore. Any feedback much appreciated!

My stomach still does a flip-flop every time I walk into a library. There is just something so exciting about the fact that there are so many stories and ideas just there, waiting for me to discover them.
It’s partly nostalgia now; books were the flavor of my childhood and their presence in a library remind me of the days when I clung to them as a source of knowledge and freedom. I had a very sheltered childhood; my parents are deeply religious and homeschooled both my brother and myself. But from a young age, they encouraged us to read - and I took that message to heart. Reading opened my world up to ideas I had not known in my sheltered upbringing. From The Canterbury Tales and Doctor Faustus to The Grapes of Wrath and The Sound and the Fury, I had devoured many of the books in the Western canon by the time I graduated high school - reading anywhere from 15 to 20 thousand pages per year. Through books I came to know a world I could not see; from the haunting depths of depraved passion in Moby Dick to the exalted, other-worldly sacrifice of Sydney Carton, I found the world - and it spurred a desire to learn more.