White Jew- Diversity essay

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
jtawil

New

White Jew- Diversity essay

Postby jtawil » Tue Oct 25, 2016 6:50 pm

I'll be blunt. I'm a white jewish new yorker applying to law school. But a lot of the schools I'm applying to have an "optional" diversity essay that we can submit with application.
Is it worth trying to show how I'm a diverse student or don't bother with that essay at all?

xnsch

Bronze

Re: White Jew- Diversity essay

Postby xnsch » Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:17 pm

jtawil wrote:I'll be blunt. I'm a white jewish new yorker applying to law school. But a lot of the schools I'm applying to have an "optional" diversity essay that we can submit with application.
Is it worth trying to show how I'm a diverse student or don't bother with that essay at all?

Depends on what you want to portray as your diversity? But seriously don't write a diversity statement solely as a white Jew from New York. That on its own has to be the least diverse type of person at a law school. That's like the archetypal lawyer--just look at the Supreme Court

littlewing67

Silver

Postby littlewing67 » Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:24 pm

Last edited by littlewing67 on Sat Mar 11, 2017 1:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kingpin101

Bronze

Postby kingpin101 » Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:27 pm

If someone wrote a diversity essay solely on being a white jew, I'd probably auto-deny (unless you're 80 and survived the Holocaust).

Rigo

Diamond

Postby Rigo » Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:24 pm

I wouldn't.

biglawhopeful18

New

Postby biglawhopeful18 » Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:33 pm

Last edited by biglawhopeful18 on Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mr. Freeze

New

Postby Mr. Freeze » Wed Oct 26, 2016 12:41 am

I Would not do it

jtawil

New

Postby jtawil » Wed Oct 26, 2016 11:04 am

Thanks all. But what if I showed how I'm diverse without mentioning the white Jew aspect. Worth trying?

Rigo

Diamond

Postby Rigo » Wed Oct 26, 2016 11:10 am