Updated... is it too sad?

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Daaltaraan

New

Updated... is it too sad?

Postby Daaltaraan » Mon Oct 24, 2016 1:02 pm

Scroll down for updated version.

From a young age, my parents taught me that life, above all else, should be meaningful. It wasn’t just a mantra that we heard from time-to-time. It was something that my parents whole-heartedly believed and embodied in their everyday lives. I’m a son of a pastor from a small town in Kansas, not altogether an interesting upbringing. However, when you’re one of seven children, people often stare at your family in public. This is especially true when three of your siblings were born on different continents.

With four children of their own, people often thought my parents were crazy when they first expressed a desire to adopt children. Even my own father found himself battling doubt when my mother felt called to adopt. After a little time, and a lot of prayer, my parents knew in their hearts that raising children would bring their lives both purpose and meaning that could never be matched. Over the next few years, we welcomed my youngest siblings, Hope, Victoria, and Jude. Hope and Victoria were both adopted from South Korea, and my youngest brother Jude is from Liberia. It turns out, my parents were right. Our lives wouldn’t be half as fun, crazy, or joyful without my youngest siblings. And while my parents taught me the importance of living a life with purpose, the greatest lesson I picked up along the way came from one of my six siblings.