Personal Statement first draft, difficult subject. Help?

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
zach7691

New

Personal Statement first draft, difficult subject. Help?

Postby zach7691 » Fri Oct 21, 2016 8:10 pm

HI guys, this is my first attempt at trying to get into law school, and as such, the first time I've ever had to write about something personal to me this extensively. It should be obvious what my subject is, and I believe it truly does serve as a point in my life that shows what I'm capable of and provides a framework of who I am - but I'm not sure if I'm attacking it in the best possible way. If it means anything, one of my biggest application obstacles right now is my 2.71 GPA, which I'm addressing in an addendum. As you can see, my choice school as of right now is Mizzou, but I'm sure I could tailor those school-specific parts to another. If anyone could give me some pointers, I'd appreciate it.

---------------------------------------------------------

“Maybe college isn’t for you.”
It’s not often that a five-word sentence can have that much of an impact on a person. For some, it can be a confirmation of all the doubts you might have in yourself. But as I’ve found out, it can also act as a catalyst to help you defeat that mentality altogether, and overcome even the most difficult obstacles.