Hard time coming up with PS Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
mstatelawdawg

New

Hard time coming up with PS

Post by mstatelawdawg » Tue Oct 04, 2016 11:07 am

I am a straight white able bodied middle class male who has had it pretty easy in life. I appreciate that fact and I am aware of my privilege, but it doesn't make for easy PS writing.

Here's the idea I have right now: Someone very close to me was the victim of a sexual assault in college. As a college student myself, I see the difficulties that victims go through in reporting and the harshness of the legal system towards these particular crimes. This is one area of the legal profession that I feel called to make a difference.

How does that sound as a PS topic?

3.94, waiting on LSAT, PT average was 166 (if it helps)

beckettbuddy

New

Re: Hard time coming up with PS

Post by beckettbuddy » Tue Oct 04, 2016 11:14 am

Last edited by beckettbuddy on Sun Oct 30, 2016 1:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

cavalier1138

Post by cavalier1138 » Tue Oct 04, 2016 11:19 am

beckettbuddy wrote:This a really "hot" topic. I don't mean that in a good way. If you're set on addressing it, be sure to demonstrate that you understand both sides of the issue. You never know who is reading your statement. My guess is that it will be a stodgy, older white man. Keep that in mind.
Have you met anyone from any admissions department at any law school in the country?

OP: Write a statement and see how it feels. The topic needs to be personal, so make sure you're tying it back to your personal investment in wanting to help victims, not focusing on their story. And with something like this, it really should be one of the core reasons you want to go to law school. If it isn't, pick something else.

beckettbuddy

New

Post by beckettbuddy » Tue Oct 04, 2016 11:23 am

Last edited by beckettbuddy on Sun Oct 30, 2016 1:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

mstatelawdawg

New