PS about All State (Great story, get in & read!)

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Anonymous User

PS about All State (Great story, get in & read!)

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Jul 20, 2016 4:19 am

OK here's my PS below, feel free to critique it, hate it, love it. Unrestricted honest feedback please. If grammar mistakes, not concerned about that just content stuff. Ok here it is:

When I started playing trumpet in the 6th grade I was horrible at it. The only reason I even decided to play trumpet was because my friend convinced me that band would be a fun class and trumpet would be the easiest instrument to learn because it only had three buttons. Turns out, the trumpet is not the easiest instrument to learn. I was so bad at the trumpet that they held me back with the 6th graders when I continued playing in the 7th grade. I felt kind of humiliated and I wanted to quit. I told my parents I wasn't doing music anymore and they vehemently opposed the decision. I wish I could interject at this part with a lofty feel-good story about how they gave me a hall of fame worthy speech about never giving up and chasing my dreams. Instead they said, "I paid way too much money renting that instrument out for you to quit! You have to play until the end of middle school." It was decided then. Since I was going to keep playing I decided to practice to move up into the next band level. Eventually I started to actually like playing the instrument.