PS feedback requested for a non-traditional applicant

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
TuxedoCats

New

PS feedback requested for a non-traditional applicant

Postby TuxedoCats » Fri Jul 01, 2016 8:21 pm

I'm a non-traditional student (i.e. 31 years old, seeking a second career) applying for a part time program at a regional school. My soft factors include a graduate degree and legal-related work experience. I literally just finished this and haven't proofread very hard, so there may be some errors/clunkiness. The page limit for this school is four pages, this comes out to three double spaced. Thanks for any feedback!

I still remember my first library card. It was a small salmon-colored square of cardstock with rounded edges, my name stamped on it by typewriter, that tucked into a small manila envelope. The librarian handed them out to my kindergarten classmates and I on a field trip to the Hamilton Township Free Public Library, situated next to the police station (on what would later become Justice Samuel A. Alito, Jr. Way, though neither Justice Alito nor I knew that back in 1989). The librarian told us that we could borrow any book we wanted with that card. From my small vantage point, the library seemed huge and the possibilities endless. I don’t remember what book I chose that day, but I do remember excitement. That small envelope meant access to a lifetime’s worth of knowledge, insight, and information. That small envelope was power.