Really need a personal statement critique/swap Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
kelsyfraser

New

Really need a personal statement critique/swap

Post by kelsyfraser » Wed Jan 13, 2016 4:10 pm

Hello All!
This is my first time through the application process and I have really been stuck on the personal statement. Its a hardship topic and I have rewrote it SO many times lol. My concerns are that I don't want it to be too negative and sad, I don't want to sound weak or like a cry baby, and that it is interesting and engaging. Also, I really do not know if sharing some of the more tragic experiences of my life is appropriate or impact-full. I'm looking for a harsh eye and would love spelling/grammar corrections and content criticism. Reply in any fashion, on the post directly or private message. I would love to help anyone else as well message me if you want a review in return.

Thank you!

Blesses With Tragedy
Some people are never lucky enough to hit on rock bottom. I am one of the luckiest of people that has had a collection of hard times that ended with me at rock bottom. What makes rock bottom so good? Why do I consider myself lucky you ask? The answer is what came after the tragic plot, I like to call it the happy ending. I am strong because I have endured pain to the point that I was completely broken but now I know my weaknesses. I am wise because now I have faced my fears, learned from my mistakes, and know the differences between illusions and reality. I am loving and optimistic because I have known sadness and lost myself, but now I can appreciate life’s abundant beauties. I am lucky because as you will see from my past, rock bottom has given me the opportunity to gain these qualities.