PS for MA/PhD in Humanities swapping to JD? Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
ethersworn

New

PS for MA/PhD in Humanities swapping to JD?

Post by ethersworn » Mon Nov 09, 2015 4:11 pm

I am currently a humanities MA/PhD student at a top 20 university (top 5 for my field). I will be completing the MA portion this May and hope to leave the program for a JD. Though I have not formally broken ground on my PhD work (one must complete the MA before), my transcript still lists my sought degree as PhD. I have the following questions:

(1) should I specifically comment on the PhD side of the slash (I am not ‘quitting a PhD’ because technically I haven’t started, but I am also not exactly a regular MA student applying for law school) or should I simply say something like ‘upon completion of my MA this spring…’.

(2) what is the best way to address this career change in my PS? I also have a UK MPhil in literature on top of my MA, so I look pretty entrenched in the academic world. I (think) I am successfully demonstrating how my field prepares me well for legal analysis, and I can give sensible reasons for my career change (i.e. not whining about the job market), but is sensible enough? Can I make it without tear-jerking explanations for my swap?

I am applying to schools in the Southeast. My state school is low ranked nationally, but is (soon to be) the only law school in the state and dominates the market.

Stats:
LSAT PT average 167 (taking in December)
UGPA is 3.98
UK MPhil awarded with distinction (probably like 3.8 or higher? not entirely sure of conversion)
MA/PhD GPA is 3.95.

totesTheGoat

Silver

Re: PS for MA/PhD in Humanities swapping to JD?

Post by totesTheGoat » Mon Nov 09, 2015 4:57 pm