Please review PS. Hoping to apply Duke ED Friday

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Abc3956427253

Please review PS. Hoping to apply Duke ED Friday

Postby Abc3956427253 » Tue Jan 06, 2015 12:13 am

Last edited by Abc3956427253 on Sat Mar 21, 2015 7:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ramius

Re: Please review PS. Hoping to apply Duke ED Friday

Postby Ramius » Tue Jan 06, 2015 12:28 am

Abc3956427253 wrote:Hello everyone-

Any help you can give reviewing this PS is very much appreciated. I am hoping to apply Duke ED on Friday but feel like I am coming up short. Please know it lacks a conclusion.

My 'story' is that I graduated from undergrad in 2010. Have worked as a fundraiser and campaign manager for various political causes since then. Now I'm VP at a small political consulting firm but am tired of having to move to a new community every year to keep moving up in my career.

Please be honest in your comments.
------

“You know you really shouldn’t be doing this,” said the man in suspenders and a fedora who had approached me.

As a professional political activist, I had faced rabid anti-abortion protestors, fire and brimstone preachers opposed to gay rights, CEOs wanting special treatment, and, once, even a small, fully robed Ku Klux Klan delegation at a college football game. Defusing awkward conversations was a required career skill. Passing out campaign literature on the front porch of a juke joint in the Mississippi Delta, I stood ready to use those skills again “Oh? You think so?” I responded dully. “Well, are you registered to vote in the area?”