Please Help w/ Topic

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
prege33

Please Help w/ Topic

Postby prege33 » Tue Dec 16, 2014 6:26 pm

Hello Everyone-

I saw another person do a thread like this and he got some great ideas.... I thought I'd try to get some feedback.

I'm a decent writer with a degree in journalism. Nothing special. Writing this personal statement has got me pretty stumped. I think I'm just so worried about writing about the wrong thing. I have a strong GPA and am waiting on my LSAT score now. I think I am nervous because I am a non-traditional applicant. (36 years old.)

Here is some background:
- second oldest of 6 children
- lost older sister to cancer when I was 8 (she was 17)
- BA in Journalism
- worked as a tv producer for a year and a half- then 9/11 happened and I wanted out
- began a short career in Higher Education Financial Aid (this is the office I worked in during undergrad)
- worked for 2 somewhat prestigious university's financial aid offices
- resigned to have children
- had 2 biological children, 1 adopted child
- sucked into a very long/expensive court battle over adopted child
- lost adopted child in an unprecedented decision
- legal bills (and therapy bills) bankrupted us
- lost our home, destroyed our marriage, etc
- have sued our agency, attorneys, law firm, etc. litigation is pending (obvs can't talk about this one too much)
- have been in the courts almost 5 years now
- am a single mother attempting to go to law school

Ha!! That all sounds crazy- I know. It's just a sum of who I am I guess. I could write about a lot of things there. But I don't want to write about the wrong thing. (Should I write about the court battle for my son when the courtroom where it took place is 2 blocks from the school I want to attend? I just don't know.)
Any ideas? Any obviously bad topics? Does anything stand out as most interesting?

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks so much!

hillz

Re: Please Help w/ Topic