GPA Addendum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Anonymous User

GPA Addendum

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Nov 20, 2014 6:04 pm

I have a very low GPA (3.1) from a top 5 university. I scored a 171 on the LSAT, if that's relevant, and I have a few years of decently impressive work experience.

I'm wondering if it's worth it to write a GPA addendum. My experience was this: I was sexually assaulted three weeks before I started college, which was shattering. At the time, my parents were separating, and my family was totally broke (as in, I was withdrawn at one point because of unpaid bills to the university). It was a lot all at once. I worked a lot, all through my first year and second year, didn't seek professional help, and was basically a walking wreck for 2 years, bare minimum. Things got slightly better with time, but only slightly. I was depressed, not eating, not sleeping, and certainly not studying. My GPA went from below a 3.0 in my first year, to about a 3.4 in my junior year, and 3.3 in my senior year. Point being: like me, it got better, but never really all the way.

I want schools to know that I am not a C+/B- student or thinker. I've only applied to one school so far, and I included an addendum that detailed the financial burden, but did not mention the assault. I felt like that only gave part of the picture. But I'm concerned about going deeper. I've heard that an addendum shouldn't really address an entire college record, and I'm worried that my experience is insufficient to warrant the kinds of grades I got for as long as I did. If that's the case, then I'd rather not delve into something this painful at all, and just say "I worked a lot! I was too immature to balance my responsibilities!" That is also true, after all. It's just not the whole truth.

What do you guys think?

Re: GPA Addendum

Postby exitoptions » Thu Nov 20, 2014 6:19 pm