GPA

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
tgs310

GPA

Postby tgs310 » Mon Jan 13, 2014 6:57 pm

I am applying with a 2.9 GPA. Frankly, I didn't think it would be financially possible to attend law school, so I didnt quite apply myself as much as i should have during my undergrad experience. However, things change and I realized that it is a possibility. I graduated from a decent undergrad school in 2011, and worked for 2.5 years doing sales for a company. Now, I am ready to apply. One of the things that I am hoping will be advantageous to me is that I took two years to sort of "grow up" and gain a greater sense of maturity as well as responsibility. Any thoughts on if I should write an explanation in an addendum? I cover some of this in my PS but I am not so sure that I go into enough detail. Also do you think this can help, hurt, or have no affect on my applications? Thanks

PS, I am mostly applying to second and third tier schools in california, and am expecting to get in the low-mid 160s on the feb LSAT.
Last edited by tgs310 on Thu Jan 16, 2014 5:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Nova

Re: GPA

Postby Nova » Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:52 am

don't write a gpa addendum about being immature in college

so was everyone else

Ramius

Postby Ramius » Tue Jan 14, 2014 9:04 am

Nova wrote:don't write a gpa addendum about being immature in college

so was everyone else

+1

Pneumonia

Postby Pneumonia » Tue Jan 14, 2014 9:06 am

I think it would be ok to submit one, maybe even that you should. It will not help you, but it may mitigate against some negative assumptions. If you do write one, it should be short, like 3 sentences short: I was immature, I am now more responsible, I will treat law school responsibly.