1st Draft: Delayed App. and Educator Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Anonymous User

1st Draft: Delayed App. and Educator

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Dec 15, 2013 4:05 pm

Going to approach essay from a different angle. If mod could please delete, thanks.

- Thank you for the incredibly helpful comments -
Last edited by Anonymous User on Tue Dec 17, 2013 7:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

jac101689

Bronze

Re: 1st Draft: Delayed App. and Educator

Post by jac101689 » Sun Dec 15, 2013 4:28 pm

This is a decent pouring out of initial ideas but it has major issues.

It's unfocused. If you read it over you'll see what I mean.

Also, don't assert you know what all your students were thinking. As a lawyer, I'm pretty sure it's undesirable to uncritically accept your assumptions.

Also, the following paragraph is downright nonsensical:

"I ask them what it feels like to realize that for the past decade or so, they most likely haven’t written many correct sentences willfully, in the sense that they knew the proper grammatical rules and followed them… not just by accident. Eyes become glassy and eyebrows raise. They are thinking, "I have written essays for years, how is this possible?" It is the same mental process when they first learned Santa isn’t real. Their minds reel into the past, trying to grasp how they could have been SO RIGHT about something, only to have it not be true."

Your students might very well have been indicating they thought you were nuts. Of course, we all have such moments :D