Advice, please? First Draft.

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Anonymous User

Advice, please? First Draft.

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Dec 01, 2013 4:51 pm

I've been putting off my PS for a while and finally completed a very rough first draft. I was hoping for some constructive criticism. Also, is 1.5 pages too short?

On paper, I am the epitome of average. I spent my formative years in the small, southeastern town of REMOVED, Kansas. Like most residents of my hometown I am white, heterosexual, and strictly middle class; the daughter of full-time teachers, part-time farmers. Like many of your average eighteen year olds, I was never quite certain what my future would hold. While I had always been motivated, it wasn’t until I graduated from high school and left the only home I’d ever known that I began to develop my goals and break the mold.

While studying at Kansas State University, I took a breadth of courses to hone my interests. Chemistry, Economics, and Philosophy—even Harry Potter’s Library—all piqued my interest and were intellectually challenging but I could never picture them as anything more than a hobby. It wasn’t until I took a Trial Advocacy course that I realized my true passion.

It was as an assignment for the aforementioned course that I participated in a mock trial. When I first learned of the assignment I was a bundle of nerves, but when the time came and my opposing counsel began to deliver his opening statement, I had an epiphany. I had been working for months. I was prepared for all the questions or objections that my opposition might use against me. I had spent the past few months learning the exceptions to the hearsay rule and knew my case like the back of my hand. There was nothing left to do except to let the trial run its course.