This PS has a gimmick. Tell me if it's terrible.

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Anonymous User

This PS has a gimmick. Tell me if it's terrible.

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:26 pm

I'm a splitter (3.45/173) shooting for a t-14. Don't hold anything back please.

Personal Statement

My mother, a classical pianist, claims that I started playing the violin before I learned to tie my shoes. I was four when I unleashed horrific screeches throughout the house, accompanied by white clouds of rosin dust. In time, cacophony gave way to music. Scratch upon scratch, I gradually peeled away each blemish, until I developed a refined purity in my sound. This is how I first learned to improve myself, and for much of my life, it is through the violin that I found intellectual and emotional guidance.

Everything about violin playing is about balance. Yes, physical balance is a requirement: your feet must be flat, your weight must be centered, your fingers must find the right posture at the right time. This can be taught to almost anyone with a passion for the violin. But it will take a lifetime of experience to find the right balance between the emotion and intellect. Listen only to your heart, and you will miss notes and neglect structural features in the music. Rely entirely on cognition, and your interpretation is at risk of being dry and uninteresting to others and, more importantly, to yourself. This capacity often distinguishes the good from the great.