Please Eviscerate My P.S

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Anonymous User

Please Eviscerate My P.S

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Oct 29, 2013 10:27 am

Law School Personal Statement Draft #1

From the banks of Troy Odysseus’ return journey to Ithaca spanned a decade, overcoming shipwreck and danger he finally arrived home. Four years ago I graduated high school, promising student and athlete, little did I know my own Odyssey had only begun.
Periods of unexplained sadness and sleepless nights would last for weeks until in the spring of my graduating year my family doctor began experimenting with anti-depressant medications. I arrived on the campus on Marquette University with dreams of making top grades and running my way to division one all-american glory. My early athletic performances were subpar and as a consequence of the medication I had gained over ten pounds. Late into the month of September I made the choice to discontinue the medication in hopes of finding my athletic form. For the first time I felt inadequate as a student and athlete, I decided to leave Marquette University, drop the pressure of an athletic scholarship and transfer to the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.
The change in scenery did little in terms of changing my life. My grades were still mediocre and my athletic performances remained non-existent. The Scylla in my Odyssey became alcohol. For the average college student, binge drinking is a way of life but for someone with an undiagnosed anxiety disorder it becomes a six-headed monster. Nights of heavy-drinking led to poorer and poorer class attendance, my anxiety mounted and fueled depression. Over the next three semesters things would remain largely cyclical, a good couple of weeks would inevitably be followed by bad ones. Shaky class attendance, missing homework and physical exhaustion.