Draft, feedback please

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )

Draft, feedback please

Postby asteven2012 » Mon Oct 14, 2013 5:57 pm

Graduating from Gustavus Adolphus College was an exciting, yet scary time in my life. I was unemployed, moving back in with my parents in Oregon. I knew I wanted to do a year of service -- AmeriCorps, PeaceCorps, or some other volunteer service -- for a year before attending law school. For my year of service, I considered focusing on women’s rights and advocacy for survivors who had been sexually assaulted or abused. However, a month after I graduated I was selected to serve with AmeriCorps at a small Habitat for Humanity affiliate in Northern Minnesota. I had volunteered with Habitat throughout college, and while it was not my first choice, I was excited to start my year of service.
Life in Northern Minnesota was not what I expected. I dealt with cockroaches, leaking ceilings, antifreeze freezing and many other car troubles all while on a limited AmeriCorps VISTA living stipend. While I struggled with these things, I woke up every morning knowing that the work I would be doing that day would help a low income family create stable housing. Having that knowledge helped get me through the long cold winter. While I was serving at Habitat for Humanity I helped five families go from lifelong renters into homeowners of highly energy efficient, well built homes. My role was to create a homeownership education program to teach the families how to properly maintain and budget for their home. I successfully created this program, rewriting a manual and developing classes for new and existing homeowners to assist them with financially and physically caring for their homes.