Second go around...tell me what you think (tear it apart)

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Anonymous User

Second go around...tell me what you think (tear it apart)

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Oct 14, 2013 12:38 pm

I had a prior attempt at this, but totally scrapped. Hopefully this is much better. ​It's a bit over 2 pages double spaced.

On a crisp October morning in 2012, I was headed from the staff parking lot into school, and before I even began to unlock my classroom door and drink my morning coffee, a fight started outside my door between two senior students. I hesitated for a moment, hoping security would arrive, but none did. Now there was blood on the floor and a crowd with cell phones out ready to post the newest bout to Facebook. I quickly stepped into the middle of the fray to break up my first fight, and as a newly minted teacher, I assumed the fight would end when I got there. On the contrary, the fight did not end until one of my seniors decided to help me in my struggle to wrestle the two young men apart, which lasted several minutes. Luckily, nobody was seriously injured. It was my first fight, but certainly not my last. In many ways, it would symbolize the year to come. I learned that I have what it takes to succeed in any situation.