Advice For Getting Started Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
tanyrseay

New

Advice For Getting Started

Post by tanyrseay » Thu Oct 10, 2013 8:22 pm

Hello everyone! I have started on my personal statement, but feel I want to go in a different direction. Here are some things I want to fit in to my personal statement that I feel are essential:

- I am a first generation college student.

- Born and Raised in Rural East Tennessee (Appalachia)
- economic disadvantage
- few opportunities, poor high school

- I have been diagnosed with a mild form of Tourette's Syndrome

How do I fit these things into a personal statement? Should it be through a narrative, say I tell a story and some how fit those things into it? I am lost as to how to get this thing rolling. My original personal statement I began by telling a story of when I traveled to Oakland, California and a young child asked me, "Why you twitting in those skinny jeans, white boy?" I framed the story through the lens of that conversation, but I felt this was too risky and the humor may throw off admissions.

AnonymousAlterEgoC

Bronze

Re: Advice For Getting Started

Post by AnonymousAlterEgoC » Fri Oct 11, 2013 8:35 pm

tanyrseay wrote:I am a first generation college student.
This probably belongs in a diversity statement

- Born and Raised in Rural East Tennessee (Appalachia)
- economic disadvantage
- few opportunities, poor high school
See above. You want to avoid talking about high school.

- I have been diagnosed with a mild form of Tourette's Syndrome
I would run with this. Tell the adcomms why you would make an ideal law student. That's basically the point of the PS.
I felt this was too risky and the humor may throw off admissions.
That's my thought too.