First draft Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
john1990

Silver

First draft

Post by john1990 » Mon Sep 09, 2013 4:35 pm

I have found that law is the best profession. I first formed this belief while reading The Republic by Plato. Plato believed that the structure of the law is the best indication of the prosperity of the society. Law gives order to society and all aspects of life from medicine to business. For this reason I consider the study and practice of law to be the most important field today. I decided to begin studying law because of the great impact it has on the world.
During my time as an undergraduate student I took it upon myself to read a variety of legal texts such as the Webster’s Legal Dictionary and Business Law Today’s Comprehensive Seventh Edition in entirety. I found that legal writing interested me greatly and that I enjoyed reading legal texts. Legal texts are interesting to read and discuss because they are important, they are based on logic, and they are subject to differences in opinion. After studying law independently I was confident that law was the most enjoyable study to me. Business law was the most exciting field since it built on my knowledge of business and accounting. Further, business law appeals to me because it has a big impact on the success of businesses and helps businesses grow.
I completed many Pre-Law classes during my time as an undergraduate at the University of Albany. My focus stayed on business law. I greatly enjoyed the lectures and was very active during classes. The classes were interesting because of the significance of the subject matter and how vocal the classroom was. I was happy to have the opportunity to speak regularly during these pre-law lectures with over 100 other students. This experience built my charisma and confidence significantly. This is one of my fondest memories at my university.