First Draft PS: thanks for any feedback! Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Anonymous User

First Draft PS: thanks for any feedback!

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Aug 20, 2013 5:39 pm

Last edited by Anonymous User on Tue Aug 27, 2013 4:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Anonymous User

Re: First Draft PS: thanks for any feedback!

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Aug 21, 2013 6:34 pm

anything? I am very new to this and trying to gauge if I'm heading in the right direction here

Magical Trevor

Bronze

Post by Magical Trevor » Thu Aug 22, 2013 2:48 am

It isn't focused which gives me the impression that you are unfocused. You talk about the book and mention that the story appealed you because you used to be a caddie but really it resonated because it reminded you that you were in the wrong major. Then you talk about a poli-sci or history major and reveal that you shifted to finance because of job market pressure, and later shifted again to a focus on economics because of intellectual pressure. Next you mention appreciating the overarching concepts of economics and finish by talking about the more immediate and practical impact of law. After, you talk about the job market which contradicts your reasoning for choosing finance as a major previously. Finally, you mention the variety of outcomes that you might consider successful after law school and compare those outcomes to choosing to be a caddie.

It feels like you can't think of anything else to do so you've just decided to give law school a shot.

Edit: I'm not implying that you can't showcase changing viewpoints but the end should leave the reader feeling like you have a more concrete position by the end of the PS.

Ramius

Gold

Post by Ramius » Thu Aug 22, 2013 6:35 am