PS Draft #3...MANY changes

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
jared6180

PS Draft #3...MANY changes

Postby jared6180 » Mon Jul 16, 2012 5:32 pm

In May 1998 I graduated from Topeka High School in Topeka, Kansas. I was raised in a strict religious home and church environment. I received repressive religious training that inculcated in me the belief that blind obedience based on limitless trust in church leadership, which had supreme knowledge of what was good for each individuals life within the congregation, was the principal way to live a good and holy life. My mother recently told me that she thought I was supposed to be a preacher, so college was never an important factor of how she raised me. To say that I lived in a black and white absolutist world would only begin to describe how I lived my life. This did not resonate in my mind though as the right way to live.