In need of Advice: How to to deal with a University Sanction

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
AK_Ambition

In need of Advice: How to to deal with a University Sanction

Postby AK_Ambition » Mon Mar 05, 2012 1:05 am

So I am currently studying for the June LSAT and looking to be admitted by Fall of 2013. I was an Econ/Political science major @ a University in my home state (think biggest state in the union). I initially did well in school, and was on track to have a decent GPA. I was actively involved with a Community service fraternity and was on the dean's list three consecutive semesters (last time being my junior year, 3.83 semester GPA while taking 6 classes).

Unfortunately, my senior year "the chickens came home to roost" and my involvement with "substance" distribution caught up to me. For the first semester of of my Sr. year I was tasked with having to deal with potential felony convictions (fortunately the criminal record was avoided). The second semester I was faced with having deal with the "piling on" of the University, and their attempt to issue me Major Sanctions --suspension and/or expulsion-- these issues had an effect on my academic performance. I wound fessing up to the accusations made by the University and that led to me being suspended for 2 years (to be lifted come fall of 2013).