Very rough draft of personal statement Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
rnl1179

New

Very rough draft of personal statement

Post by rnl1179 » Tue Jan 10, 2012 3:30 pm

Most little girls grow up playing with barbies or dollhouses. It was my idea of fun to pretend that I was a lawyer filling out paperwork at my desk. My niece Amanda, who is a year older than me, wasn’t so fond of that game. Rather than playing dress-up or pretending I was a princess, I preferred to have my nose stuck in a book. It didn’t matter if I was at the mall with my mom, in the shower or supposed to be in bed fast asleep. I was constantly reading. Amanda would beg my mom not to take me to the library for anymore books so that I would play with her instead. The highlight of my summers as a child was the summer reading program at the local library. They would award a prize to the child who read the most books, which seemed like a piece of cake because that is what I liked to do best anyways.

I started taking dance classes when I was two years old and continued until the age of 12 when I got to junior high school. Once in junior high I started doing colorguard, winterguard, soccer and lacrosse. I tried almost everything at least once including basketball, volleyball and cheerleading. I participated in colorguard and winterguard for over 6 years which was probably the most rewarding experience of my life. It teaches you discipline, dedication and motivation as well as commitment. All of the practices were mandatory and would last anywhere from 4-8 hours. Every weekend we had competitions where all of your hard work would come to fruition. We travelled all over the east coast to NYC, Philadelphia, Dayton Ohio, Washington DC and so many more places. That was where my love of traveling came from as well as my ability to work well with others.