Personal Statement. Thoughts? Thanks! Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
arose86

New

Personal Statement. Thoughts? Thanks!

Post by arose86 » Fri Dec 30, 2011 3:05 pm

Since I was seven years old I have been driven to defend and protect the underdog. Throughout my secondary and collegiate years I took part in various volunteer activities that could further this drive. It was not till after I graduated college and matured that I realized these goals could be best accomplished through a career in the legal profession.

When I was only seven years old I learned that my older sister Alyssa has Down Syndrome. To be told that there is something wrong with your sister, and best friend is life altering, even at such a young age I knew that our relationship would far from the ordinary. Alyssa was no longer my partner in crime and my great friend always willing to play, now she was someone to be defended and fostered. As I grew up I became obsessed with how others perceived her and even one suspicious look at her had me on the defensive. I also wanted to make Alyssa the best that she could be. If I learned something in school that I thought could benefit her I thought about the best way to teach it to her and I was determined to help her get it right…………….

While in college, I stayed involved in helping people like my sister by joining Best Buddies and mentoring a mentally-challenged teenage boy. However, it was my involvement on the executive board of Alternative School Break Club that gave me opportunity to see that there are many different groups of people that are in need of advocates.