GPA & DUI Addendum, are they appropriate? Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Duramax80

Bronze

GPA & DUI Addendum, are they appropriate?

Post by Duramax80 » Mon Dec 26, 2011 7:18 pm

GPA ADDENDUM:

During my earlier years as an undergraduate, I had little concern for my grades, and found adjusting to college life to be difficult. Then, in 2008, I encountered a major hurdle in my life, losing two close friends in the span of a few short months. It began with losing one, (NAME 1), to a painful struggle with leukemia, ending his life at the age of 21 years old. Shortly after, (NAME 2), another young man I had grown up with, died due to a drug overdose by accidentally mixing incompatible medications. Coping with the loss of two close friends caused me to isolate myself and ignore my academic responsibilities. I ended up failing two classes and withdrawing from three, as the impact from these losses was too much. In the following semester, I was diagnosed with mononucleosis, and was forced to medically withdraw from an entire semester of school. Medical information can be provided upon request.
However, after dealing with the loss of my friends and successfully recuperating from my illness, I entered back into my undergraduate career to continue my education the following semester. As my academic career progressed, I enrolled into a law class (Spring 2010), and found my drive and direction I had been lacking thus far. Ignited by a passion for law, I transformed myself into a disciplined and motivated student, ready for new challenges. From spring 2010 until graduation in June of 2011, I earned a cumulative GPA of 3.7, and was even awarded a place on the Deans List honor roll. It is important to note that during the time span between 2010 and graduation, I was enrolled in the highest level and most demanding courses my institution offered, which I believe demonstrates my true capabilities as a student.

DUI ADDENDUM: