Should I write about my recent substance abuse issues...

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )

Should I write about my substance abuse

Poll ended at Fri Dec 16, 2011 8:09 pm

Yes
5%
No
95%

Total votes: 21

richalvarez

Should I write about my recent substance abuse issues...

Postby richalvarez » Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:09 pm

I had a problem with cocaine and I got a DUI in 2008 for narcotics. I went to a treatment program and got help for my addiction, and I am proud to say I've been clean since 2009. Unfortunately, I got a second DUI in 2010 for alcohol. I also got an open container towards the end of 2010. I know everyone is going to read this and write me off as an addict who doesn't belong in law school, but I truly feel I'm exactly what a law school needs. I'm an individual who has hit his bottom, fought through adversity and refused to accept my shortcomings. I graduated with a B.S in Accounting and started my own firm doing taxes and bookkeeping. I feel I'm about as diverse as they come: reformed addict, self-employed, single parent, and URM (Mexican Male).

I have found my passion in taxes and would like to study tax law to further my practice, which would also give me the ability to better assist the underprivileged Hispanic members of my community.

What do you guys think? Obviously, I have to divulge my criminal background on my application, so I figured I might as well try and benefit from it. Agree or Disagree?

sunynp

Re: Should I write about my recent substance abuse issues...

Postby sunynp » Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:19 pm

Don't write about substance abuse. Lawyers are notorious for substance abuse issues. Not everyone feels that overcoming addiction is a great accomplishment.
Write about overcoming some other adversity - something that puts you in a shining light - write about what drives you now.

hooma

Postby hooma » Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:39 pm