DUI Addendum - Comments/Suggestions would be Appreciated Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
bama684

New

DUI Addendum - Comments/Suggestions would be Appreciated

Post by bama684 » Mon Dec 05, 2011 7:40 pm

A little background... I am a 27 year old paralegal working at very reputable law firm in New Orleans, Louisiana. I was arrested for DUI when I was in college (I was 21 when i was arrested). Please comment on my addendum and let me know what you think needs to be revised. I appreciate all comments and constructive criticism.

I was arrested for DUI on [date] in [location]. I cannot and will not make any excuses for my actions that night, but I can embrace my arrest as a life-changing event. As a 21-year-old college student, my life centered on working and partying with very little emphasis on academics. My lifestyle caught up to me the night I was arrested. My immediate thoughts after my arrest were purely motivated by self pity. Why me? Why was I the one to get caught? My immature lifestyle at the time made it hard for me to realize that I was the one that needed to take responsibility, grow up, and mature as a person. Motivation from family and friends and a little self-reflection on my life's path helped me realize it was time for a change. I pled guilty to DUI, met all of my probationary requirements, and graduated college shortly after.