2 page personal statement *Final Draft* Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
john1990

Silver

2 page personal statement *Final Draft*

Post by john1990 » Wed Nov 23, 2011 5:17 pm

Booker Washington once said “Success is to be measured not so much by the position that one has reached in life as by the obstacles which he has overcome while trying to succeed”. While I reflect upon my life through the lens of Booker Washington’s wisdom, I feel a great sense of accomplishment. My quest for knowledge has endured through a gauntlet of extraordinary obstacles, which should be considered when evaluating my position.
When I was a freshman in college, I was experiencing an education for the first time since dropping out of high school in the eleventh grade to help support my mother who is permanently disabled and legally blind. We had been living together in a small trailer on the outskirts of town since her separation when I was twelve years old. However I soon felt the desire to return to school and realize my potential.
I had no car, and the closest college was five miles away. But, I was determined to achieve redemption, so I decided to bike the 10 miles every day to and from school in the oppressive snow filled streets. I soon realized that this could only be a temporary solution. When I was eighteen I decided that I had to move into the city to facilitate my education.
I was able to find affordable housing alone; but, my new apartment was located in the ghetto of Schenectady. It was above a liquor store next to a bar and a funeral home. However, I was used to living in subpar conditions, and I thought that I could make my time there perfectly uneventful. But, I was wrong.