Please critique my ps Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Litts787

New

Please critique my ps

Post by Litts787 » Tue Nov 22, 2011 12:16 pm

This is my rough draft of my ps. I think its pretty technically sound, but doesnt inspire any real emotion yet. I'm not quite sure what I can do to fix this... Any feedback or constructive criticism would be GREATLY appreciated.

The first paragraph of the AmeriCorps pledge states “I will get things done for America - to make our people safer, smarter, and healthier.” During my 12 month tenure at (NPO), where I worked as an AmeriCorps volunteer, I had ample opportunity to turn these words into action, to make good on my AmeriCorps pledge, and to get a glimpse of where my developing commitment to personal and community advocacy for those in need might take me.
The mission of (NPO) is “to create Hope, Opportunity and Choice, with work as the means through which people with disabilities and other barriers to employment can more fully participate in the mainstream of life”. It was with this same motivation that I chose to participate in an AmeriCorps program after I graduated last year that provided free financial services for the disabled and low-income community in Denver. I had just received my degree in Economics and I was ecstatic when I found out about the program because it seemed like the perfect opportunity to utilize my knowledge of finance, economics, and community development to help others. My responsibilities included screening and financially counseling recipients of an emergency zero-interest small loan program for (NPO) employees and clients, developing and implementing a financial literacy curriculum, and teaching weekly financial literacy classes for disabled and low-income adults. I also managed a team of AmeriCorps members and volunteers as an IRS VITA (Volunteer Income Tax Assistance) Site Coordinator.