Stuck in a rut...could use some advice

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
KibblesnBitts

Stuck in a rut...could use some advice

Postby KibblesnBitts » Sun Oct 30, 2011 6:16 pm

I'm absolutely stuck on my personal statement. I'm a senior undergraduate, but all I have to offer in terms of experience are the 5 years I worked in retail (I'm now unemployed!) and some offshoot leadership roles that really weren't that big or extravagant in any way.

So, my question is simply if it is okay to use experiences working in retail as part of the personal statement?

kl10qm

Re: Stuck in a rut...could use some advice

Postby kl10qm » Sun Oct 30, 2011 6:19 pm

Were you in school when you were working those five years? You could write about how you had to learn how to juggle work and school. If you had to work to support yourself, you could write about the financial hardship that you faced.

KibblesnBitts

Re: Stuck in a rut...could use some advice

Postby KibblesnBitts » Sun Oct 30, 2011 6:34 pm

kl10qm wrote:Were you in school when you were working those five years? You could write about how you had to learn how to juggle work and school. If you had to work to support yourself, you could write about the financial hardship that you faced.

While I did work during school for 3 of those semesters, I didn't have to work to support myself. I come from an upper-middle class family whose parents have saved up enough during their adult lives to support my state school tuition.

I'm going to spitball a couple of things here, please if you don't feel the need to read it, it's all good.