My career (or lackthereof) for PS subject matter?

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
leche

My career (or lackthereof) for PS subject matter?

Postby leche » Thu Oct 13, 2011 6:34 pm

Since I graduated over 2 years ago, I have been waiting tables and bartending. I wanted to write about it in my personal statement for three reasons: 1. To explain why I haven't held a "real" job in that time 2. To talk up some of the skills I've gained (interpersonal and communication skills) 3. Mention the fact that I was promoted from server to bartender (it's a big deal in the service industry). Is this an ok PS path to pursue?

I also have a decent-sized "why law" chunk, where I focus mainly on my research and writing skills as an undergrad English major (I had a 3.9 GPA with a decent amount of academic awards), in addition to my interest in environmental law.

Background: I'm a white girl from midwest suburbs, and was so involved with school and work that I didn't get involved in a lot of extracurriculars in college. None of my family or friends has had anything awful happen to them, knock on wood. I feel like I've led a painfully normal life, leading to pretty boring PS material.

imjustjoking22

Re: My career (or lackthereof) for PS subject matter?

Postby imjustjoking22 » Thu Oct 13, 2011 7:44 pm

Please don't talk about how it was a big thing to be promoted from server to bartender...even if it's true, it sounds fairly ridiculous.

I'd play around with your idea and then pass it around for some feedback and see if it pans out. Gotta start somewhere!

rinkrat19

Postby rinkrat19 » Thu Oct 13, 2011 7:47 pm

There's really no such thing as a bad PS topic, just a badly-executed one.

Some topics are much harder to execute well and take a really skilled writer. But really good writing could make a PS about sharpening pencils compelling.

The only way to find out if it works for you is to try it.

leche

Postby leche » Thu Oct 13, 2011 7:54 pm