How long does it typically take to write the PS?

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
nsaini

How long does it typically take to write the PS?

Postby nsaini » Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:01 pm

I'm about a month away from applications due date and trying to work out how much time I should devote to writing my Personal Statement. Is it something that takes weeks of work or is it possible to write it in a few days/hours let's say? I'm in my 4th year UG and have tons of Mid-terms and Papers coming up. I need to make myself a schedule. How long did it take you to write yours?

CanadianWolf

Re: How long does it typically take to write the PS?

Postby CanadianWolf » Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:02 pm

Varies greatly from person to person. A few hours to a few weeks.

rinkrat19

Postby rinkrat19 » Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:07 pm

It totally depends on the person, their topic, their writing skills, the weather, how many sunspots there have been so far this year, and whether the Packers won last week.

(It totally depends.)

I would guess that most people take a few weeks and several drafts. I've heard of people getting it done in a few hours. Those people might be really awesome writers, or they might have turned in crap essays, or something in between.

I personally spent the 3 weeks between the LSAT and getting our scores working on my essay.

dani_burhop

Postby dani_burhop » Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:38 pm

For applicants who really dedicate time to the PS, I'd say it takes between 4-6 good drafts to have a quality PS. I've seen applicants compress these edits into one week, but most take 3-4 weeks. Usually it helps to write and edit a good deal, and then to take a breather and come back to your draft (s) in a few days with fresh eyes (at least once or twice).

Best, Dani

Diiizzzzoooo

Postby Diiizzzzoooo » Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:47 pm

I'm interested in knowing why you are only a month away from the due date? Schools usually stop accepting around March/April. Some even later.