Possible idea: software patents? Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Stevoman

Bronze

Possible idea: software patents?

Post by Stevoman » Tue Sep 27, 2011 11:02 am

First post here, was hoping to get some input from you guys on the potential for this PS subject. Mostly to see if it's a terrible idea before I write it.

Some background would be appropriate: I graduated from Houston with a BSEE last year. My area of study was embedded microcomputer systems, and I have been working in the computer industry for many years. I did general programming part-time while in college, and have been working full time as a firmware engineer at Hewlett-Packard since graduation.

In my time at HP, I have become acutely aware of the problems associated with software patents. Employees are not only encouraged, but are also financially rewarded, for securing as many patents as possible for HP, regardless of how obvious or silly the patent is. I have participated in conversations where coworkers stated something along the lines of "I can't believe the USPTO actually gave me that patent...oh well, at least I'll get my bonus at the end of the year for it." I'll try to take some pictures of the patents we have hung outside of our lab, but my personal favorite was something along the lines of "Method for remotely managing a computer system over a network connection." HP's incentive for doing this is to give themselves as much fuel as possible to get rid of any "little guys" that could potentially compete with HP, by legislating them away with ridiculous patent suits. HP has, in fact, brought action against former employees of my group who left and made a product to compete with ours, even after their no-compete agreement had expired.