A couple of questions... Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
Eve0000

New

A couple of questions...

Post by Eve0000 » Thu Sep 15, 2011 12:55 pm

I have a few application questions, let me know what you guys think...

1. I graduated with a 3.5 UGPA and 3.7 Graduate GPA. However, my first semester of undergrad, I was working full time and was not focusing on school as much (also being the typical college freshman that didn't take college as seriously as I should have) so my GPA ended up being 2.9 in freshman year. After that, it was around 3.6-4.0 and up for each semester. Should I write an addendum explaining the low GPA in my freshman year, stating that a full time job interfered with my studies?

2. My native language is not English and I came to the states when I was 12 years old. Would talking about that make a good diversity statement? Just to supplement my applications?

Thanks for the advice!

thelawschoolproject

Silver

Re: A couple of questions...

Post by thelawschoolproject » Thu Sep 15, 2011 3:27 pm

As to your first question, if you were getting 3.6-4.0 for the next six semesters how did your GPA remain at a 3.5? Were most of the semesters closer to 3.6? I suppose more information is always better, but I'd say even without a statement from you the adcomm would be able to see the rise in GPA. If you feel more comfortable including this information, I don't think it would hurt you.

For the second question, yes, I definitely think that would make an excellent DS.

Eve0000

New

Post by Eve0000 » Thu Sep 15, 2011 5:38 pm

thelawschoolproject wrote:As to your first question, if you were getting 3.6-4.0 for the next six semesters how did your GPA remain at a 3.5? Were most of the semesters closer to 3.6? I suppose more information is always better, but I'd say even without a statement from you the adcomm would be able to see the rise in GPA. If you feel more comfortable including this information, I don't think it would hurt you.