Another rough PS draft

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
SisterRayVU

Another rough PS draft

Postby SisterRayVU » Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:01 pm

Very rough first draft. If anyone can help me out with style, content, and grammar, I'd appreciate it. Trying to get everything I can going for me that I can control due to having a crappy GPA :(

FWIW: I removed the name of where I worked because the person himself is largely irrelevant imo.

I started as a punk. Going in to university, I had an unflinching attitude about me. Political and impassioned, I wanted to take part in the storied history of campus activism. I would influence my area's politics through sit-ins and direct action, megaphones and placards. But over the course of four years, I matured into something quite different.

As a freshman, I joined the new Students for a Democratic Society (SDS). We worked for leftist causes through flyering, speeches, and very visible protests. The very first project I took part in proved to be my proudest moment with the group. We organized a large protest in opposition to the war in Iraq and I held the responsibility of writing the press packets and contacting the media about the event. Following this, though, SDS fell into what I believed to be self-serving actions. Though I still took part, I grew disillusioned with the prospect of bothering students about eating at Chik-Fil-A. By the end of my first year, I realized that our actions ceased to be effective and became exercises in extremist movements. People actually spoke proudly about shoving a cop simply because he asked us to remain on the sidewalk during a protest. Still, I cynically believed that the 'system' offered me no recourse in achieving my political goals.