Personal Statement Help/Advice/Critiques Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
salsahips

Bronze

Personal Statement Help/Advice/Critiques

Post by salsahips » Mon Sep 05, 2011 2:56 pm

I would greatly appreciate any advice anyone might have. It's a little short and I can probably squeeze in a couple of paragraphs. This is my first rough draft so grammatical errors might be present, but please point them out. Thanks.
Last edited by salsahips on Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

livelovelaugh49

New

Re: Personal Statement Help/Advice/Critiques

Post by livelovelaugh49 » Mon Sep 12, 2011 3:50 pm

salsahips wrote:I would greatly appreciate any advice anyone might have. It's a little short and I can probably squeeze in a couple of paragraphs. This is my first rough draft so grammatical errors might be present, but please point them out. Thanks.

2001 was the defining year of my life. Not because I graduated middle school or accomplished any academic or athletic achievement. And no, the significance of that year is not predicated upon the attacks on 9/11. 2001 was the year my father had a seizure on a sidewalk, split his head open, underwent brain surgery, and spent weeks in a coma. The experience sowed the seeds for both the mettle and the motivation for overcoming hardship and seeing my goals through to their completion.
Staring at my father, a literal hybrid of man and machine, his breath being artificially respired and his heart artificially pumped, was the most frightening experience of my life. It was more frightening than the numerous times the policemen would knock on our door. Even more frightening than the countless times I had seen him on the verge of death during drug and alcohol induced stupors.