Transfer PS (Short, please critique)

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
kaiser

Transfer PS (Short, please critique)

Postby kaiser » Wed Jun 29, 2011 11:51 pm

Hey guys, if you could critique my PS, it would be much appreciated. I didn't get all flowery with the grandiose language or imagery people tend to use on their initial PS. This is a transfer PS so I just wanted to get right to the point regarding my circumstances and what I like about the new school. Let me know what you think so I can submit this application ASAP:

I am a lifelong resident of the [location of new school] area, and it has always been my intention to attend law school and secure employment close to home. My fiancé, however, secured a position in [location of current school] after earning her masters degree from [new school's] Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. I decided it would be best to remain close to her and consequently chose to attend [current school]. Unfortunately, my fiancé’s position ultimately fell through and she soon returned home to the [location of new school/home] area while I remained in [location of old school]. I greatly enjoyed my first year at [old school] and it is certainly difficult to leave, but it is very important that I remain close to my fiancé. [New school] has long been my dream institution for law school. Rather than pose an inconvenience, my present circumstances present a wonderful opportunity to both return home to my fiancé and continue my legal education in the vibrant [new school] community.