Thinking about rewriting my PS and Addendum for grades.

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
CP2323

Thinking about rewriting my PS and Addendum for grades.

Postby CP2323 » Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:20 pm

I wrote a personal narrative about my low income background. I am not exactly sure what is the best way to present my personal statement. I am a non-traditional applicant (32 father of 3) with military and teaching experience. I am also a disabled veteran.

Personal Statement
I have always worked to help support my mom. As a young child I would often ask my relatives for money for Christmas and birthdays, so that I could give it to my mom to help her. As I got older the financial help I provided my mom led me to work full time hours in high school to better support our family.
I learned at an early age just how difficult life can be. My parents separated and later divorced before I was two years old. By the time I was seven I was the man of the house. My mother and I moved from Long Island to upstate New York. This move was especially difficult because we now lived by ourselves. My mom worked long hours as a medical transcriptionist which meant I was home alone after school. I would complete my chores and homework, made myself dinner, and put myself to bed. In my free time I would read. I became a voracious reader at a very early age. I had a thirst for learning that seemed to only be quenched by a good book. During our time in upstate New York my mom had health issues which resulted in her losing her job and us ending up on welfare. Times were tough but I always kept a positive attitude and focused on doing well in school to help me get by.
My mom and I decided to move to Florida while I was in high school. We moved to Clearwater,