Final Draft--Please Criticize Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
bee's vision

New

Final Draft--Please Criticize

Post by bee's vision » Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:17 pm

I am thinking about sending this out tonight so any last minute advice is greatly appreciated, Ill be happy to return the favor. Here it is:

There are only 12 notes that all music is composed of but mastery of these 12 notes is anything but simple, music is a sea of unimaginable breadth and depth. I started playing piano at 5, guitar at 12 and bass at 14. I have spent countless hours practicing, studying music theory, transcribing the work of other musicians and have only broken the surface of the water. One can devote their entire life to music and neither reach the shores nor touch the floor of this immense ocean.

My heroes have always been jazz musicians—Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Sonny Rollins—geniuses of musical improvisation. To play a piece of music one must possess the ability to read the music and the technique to perform it. To compose a piece of music one must have a masterful understanding of the principles of harmony and composition. To improvise requires both and then some. The improviser must express themselves in a fluid environment, while reacting and communicating with the other members of the ensemble, all while maintaining grace, creativity, innovation and personality. Years ago I set out to learn this unique outlet for expression. My only goal in the pursuit is to be constantly developing and improving. My satisfaction as a musician comes from connecting with this vast, ancient, ubiquitous phenomenon and creating with the ultimate medium for self-expression.