I would appreciate your comments on my PS

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )

I would appreciate your comments on my PS

Postby cmdcmd » Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:05 am

Last edited by cmdcmd on Wed May 29, 2013 8:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: I would appreciate your comments on my PS

Postby rebexness » Mon Jan 31, 2011 2:08 am

Last edited by rebexness on Thu Nov 13, 2014 2:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby LSATclincher » Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:20 pm

This needs a total rewrite. I stopped reading half-way, and skimmed the rest. The debate thing won't work; it appears many applicants share this experience. Your writing style was mature, but quite boring. The race stuff seemed pretty awkward.

Postby cmraider » Thu Feb 10, 2011 7:03 pm

Full Disclosure: I'm applying to law school for the first time this cycle, so I'm pretty new to whole PS stuff. However, I do have a journalism degree with experience in newspapers, public relations and advertising, for what it's worth.

I cared deeply about ideas from a young age. I credit that largely to the influence of my mother, who was a graduate student in theology for much of my childhood. She always took my questions about her coursework, reading and research seriously, and through her I had the chance to engage with texts and questions that, while they frequently exceeded my understanding, never failed to excite my intellectual curiosity.
Hate to be harsh, but after reading your first sentence, I stopped reading. It's bland, generic and cliche. Also, and this is a highly subjective personal preference, I would try to make the opening paragraph present tense.