PS Second Draft for U of Utah. Advice? Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
freefaller2006

New

PS Second Draft for U of Utah. Advice?

Post by freefaller2006 » Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:45 pm

Winston Churchill once said, “A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty.”

It was the spring of 2008 in an American Politics class when I first read these inspirational words. Two years into my college education, I felt completely disoriented and without direction. Schoolwork was never a struggle for me. I graduated from high school in the top ten percent of Washington State, and I did so with little effort. As I entered college, I was cursed with the knowledge that I could succeed with only modest exertion. This inevitably led to making decent grades in uninteresting classes, with very little passion or desire to go above and beyond. As my second year of college came to an end, lack of fervor had left me in a regretful situation. Given the gift of a powerful mind, I began to realize I was childishly misusing it. As I sought advice and support, I realized for the first time in my life that my support system had long ago dissipated. The friends that I had once valued greatly had drifted away from me. My small family had grown apart as a result of a lengthy divorce and relocation, leaving the family desensitized and unaware of my personal struggle. That was when the words of Winston Churchill grew from just a quote I had taped on my desk to a vessel flowing toward A New Beginning. As difficult as that part of my life was for me, I look back and feel truly blessed to have been presented with such personal challenges. The overpowering discouragement I experienced was nothing more than a disguised opportunity. It was a chance for a fresh start; a chance to find something I was fascinated by and pursue it.