Please help...Almost out of time and keep changing my ps

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
mholmes414

Please help...Almost out of time and keep changing my ps

Postby mholmes414 » Fri Jan 07, 2011 4:57 pm

First off I am not sure if it sounds okay with "it's not about you at the beginning and end of intro paragraph. Secondly, please let me know if you think it would sound better with Judge story first or Cinderella story first. I cannot decide. It really happened this way and i did not think of "Cinderella" even being relevant until this meeting i had with Judge.
Also should I take out the "cliche part of helping others" ?
please help!

“It’s not about you.” Little did I know that such simple words would have such a profound and life-changing impact. As a recent college graduate, I was frustrated and mentally exhausted trying to figure out “my next step.” I decided I needed to talk with someone who “had been through it all.” Instead of driving home, I bypassed my apartment to go straight to the courthouse, planning to set up an appointment. I was pressed for time, but I chose to wait to meet with the judge present. The meeting that followed changed my entire outlook of my future. As I talked to Judge John C. Judge of Moscow, I felt my frustration lessen, but I was still confused as ever as to my life’s direction. Then, this one distinctive phrase grabbed me like a saving hand. He explained what had been revealed to him through his experiences that is the bottom line of any profession. Looking down from his bench to me at one of the counsel tables, he said, “It’s not about you.”