First Draft - Advice Please

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )

First Draft - Advice Please

Postby starbucksjunkie » Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:30 pm

I would be eternally grateful for any critiques for my personal statement. I've struggled with it. I've been out of school for 3 years and am not that interesting really. I studied in the U.S. as an international student but now have a greencard. I didn't play up the international student thing because I'm from Canada and most American's think of Canada as an extension on the U.S. not a foreign country. My American English is rough and I've tried to avoid passive voice, which is more accepted in Canada. Let me know any thoughts....

Ambition to Lead

There is no grade to earn nor is there an extracurricular requirement to fulfill. Yet, on a frigid Saturday at 6:00 a.m., I am unpacking training materials in an empty campus building on my day off. My university had accepted my proposal to conduct a two-day seminar Workplace Violence: Identifying & Minimizing Organizational Risk. After the arrival of the volunteers and the course leader I had secured, I reiterate the course objective: to provide the professionals in attendance with the tools to combat the prevalence of violence in workplaces and schools. Everything is set. I smile, prepared to greet the participants and translate a vision into a reality.