Need help cutting it in half Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
verbalizing

New

Need help cutting it in half

Post by verbalizing » Sat Dec 11, 2010 10:30 pm

Hi,

I had one complete personal statement about something that I wasn't very passionate about, but another event has sparked my interest. Now I went on a writing rampage, and need to cut it in half. Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

Two years ago while working at the Roxbury District Courthouse, I walked into work and was greeted by various news crew vans parked outside, and a larger police presence than usual. Roxbury District Courthouse is the second busiest municipal courthouse in Massachusetts. The reason for the media flurry wasn’t due to a celebrity being arraigned for drug possession or a DUI, but for something on a different scale. It was for the arraignment of the shooting death of a 14 year old boy at a bus stop. At that time, I worked as a probation intern at the courthouse for a number of months, and have witnessed everything from attempted escapes from the sixth session, a prior murder trial as well as a domestic dispute that involved a frying pan and hot grits. The atmosphere during the arraignment was full of emotion where the defendant, a leader of a Boston gang, pleaded not guilty behind a partition for fear of backlash in the courtroom.

I currently work at District Attorney Dan Conley’s office, in the Gang Unit, where I had the opportunity to see at close range this particular defendant’s trial go up to Suffolk Superior Court. My experience working in the criminal justice system has reinforced my decision to pursue criminal law. I want to become a prosecutor not only in the pursuit of conviction but to keep leaders who influence others to do harm, especially the youth, off the streets. I have worked with youth in various capacities from mentoring, tutoring, supervising campers, as well as conducting research on a directed study.