Once again, I am begging you to read my DS.. Forum

(Personal Statement Examples, Advice, Critique, . . . )
atkpl

New

Once again, I am begging you to read my DS..

Post by atkpl » Wed Nov 24, 2010 5:22 am

Thank you very much for your comments for my first draft..

I edited the paper much, and I tried to avoid the negativity as much as I can..

I wonder if this got any better than last time..

Growing up in a homogeneous country like Korea, I never had an opportunity to live in a diverse society. When I was a 9th-grade student, I made the most significant decision in my life; I left my family behind in Korea and came to America by myself to pursue a better education. Moreover, I was excited to have the experience of living in a society where people from different cultures live together, which I believed would allow me to have diverse background with much understanding of other cultures.

I attended a boarding school in Chattanooga, TN, ready to enjoy the diverse society. However, I was only dismayed to find myself being an outcast. Rather than to appreciate, my schoolmates seemed to believe my cultural difference was a good subject to deride. I lost my self-esteem and suffered from sheer loneliness and was desperate for someone who would reach out to me. Every day, I became more reclusive than before, spending most of my days staring at a laptop screen in my dormitory room.

When I started to lose my hope for the American dream, I met my second roommate. He was also an international student, but from Honduras. He, however, was different from me; he was completely blended with my school society. One night, after the lights-out hour, I was eager to find out why my colleagues accepted his culture but not mine. “Because you do not accept theirs,” was the verbatim answer I would never forget. It was an awakening; I, for the first time, looked back and realized that I had not truly tried to accept American culture in the first place.